Cleveland International Film Festival

United States

In addition to being the flagship event of the Cleveland Film Society, the Cleveland International Film Festival is the premier film event between New York and Chicago.

The first Cleveland International Film Festival (CIFF) was organized by Jonathan Forman and presented April 13 ­ June 2, 1977. Today's CIFF includes a full survey of contemporary international filmmaking with approximately 100 features from 44 countries and more than 100 short subjects that are shown in collected programs. Along with the main program of international films, there are special sections that add interest and diversity to the overall Festival. These include American independent, documentary, Eastern European, family, gay and lesbian, and Pan-African films.

The Central and Eastern European Competition is a juried competition for emerging filmmakers. The Director's Spotlight comprises a mini-retrospective of a celebrated filmmaker whose important and extensive body of work is not well known in the U.S. The Someone to Watch Awards is an annual showcase for three exceptional filmmakers poised to make international breakthroughs. The Festival pairs their newest film with an older work.

Hungarian films at the festival

2022 - Gentle - Best Central and Eastern European Film (in competition) (winner)
2021 - Preparations to Be Together for an Unknown - George Gund III Memorial Central and Eastern European Competition (in competition) (winner)
2019 - One Day - Central and Eastern European Competition Award (in competition) (winner)
2018 - Kincsem - Bet on Revenge
2016 - Liza, the Fox-Fairy (in competition)
2013 - The Exam (in competition)
2012 - The Maiden Danced To Death (in competition)
2011 - Bibliothéque Pascal (in competition)
2010 - Lost Times (in competition)
2009 - The Investigator - Central and Eastern European Competition Award (in competition) (winner)
2009 - Bahrtalo! (Good Luck!) (in competition)
2008 - Tripe and Onions - Clower and Maggie Award (winner)
2008 - Siren
2008 - Iska's Journey (in competition)
2007 - Fresh Air
2005 - Kontroll (in competition)
2005 - After the Day Before (in competition)
2004 - The Colour of Happiness (in competition)
2003 - Temptations
2003 - Hukkle - Central and Eastern European Competition Award (in competition) (winner)
2003 - Bánk Bán
2002 - Abandoned
1998 - The Witman Boys
1997 - Vaska Easoff
1997 - Bolshe Vita
1996 - The Outpost

Ha hibát, pontatlanságokat talál, kérjük, jelezze a email-címen, ahol az adatbázissal kapcsolatos egyéb észrevételeit is szívesen várjuk!