Hong Kong International Film Festival


Hong Kong, China

The Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF) is a non-competitive event organised around March and April every year. The HKIFF was launched in 1976 by the Urban Council. The aim of the Festival is to serve as a platform for international film exchange and a window to the world for Hong Kong Cinema.

The (HKIFF) is one of Asia's most reputable platforms for filmmakers, film professionals and filmgoers from all over the world to launch new works and experience outstanding cinema. Established in 1977, the 16-day event showcases over 200 new films and several retrospective programmes. Previously operated by Urban Council and Leisure and Cultural Services Department from 1977 to 2001, and Hong Kong Arts Development Council from 2001 to 2004 respectively, HKIFF is officially corporatized as an independent, charitable organization Hong Kong International Film Festival Society Limited after completing its 28th edition.

The Hong Kong International Film Festival presents five competition sections with the award winners decided by distinguished jury members consisting of renowned film industry professionals, film critics, directors and talent.

Young Cinema Competition
Documentary Competition
Short Film Competition

The Hong Kong International Film Festival Society is a non-profit, non-government organization which develops, promotes and encourages creativity in the art and culture of film through the presentation of the annual HKIFF. Apart from organizing the flagship event HKIFF each year, the Society is also committed to organize regular programmes and other film culture activities throughout the year, in order to promote the art and creative business of cinema, with an international dimension and outlook.

Hungarian films at the festival

2019 - Entropia (in competition)
2019 - Ruben Brandt, Collector
2019 - Sunset
2017 - The Noise of Licking (in competition)
2017 - On Body and Soul
2014 - Symphony no. 42 -

Special Mention

(in competition) (winner)
2012 - Just the Wind
2011 - Tender Son - The Frankenstein Project
2011 - The Turin Horse
2008 - The Man from London
2008 - Milky Way - ambient movie
2008 - Iska's Journey
2007 - The Man from London
2007 - Fresh Air - Special Mention (winner)
2007 - Children of Glory
2006 - The Porcelain Doll
2006 - Johanna
2006 - Black Brush
2005 - Dealer
2005 - Kontroll
2005 - After the Day Before
2005 - Forest
2003 - Hukkle - Golden Firebird Award for Young Cinema (in competition) (winner)
2002 - Abandoned
2000 - North by North
2000 - Simon the Magician
1999 - Passion
1998 - Stracciatella
1998 - Szamba
1998 - The Witman Boys
1998 - Long Twilight
1998 - Bolshe Vita
1998 - The Outpost
1997 - Bolshe Vita
1997 - Vaska Easoff
1996 - The Outpost
1995 - Woyzeck
1995 - Satantango
1995 - Magic Hunter
1994 - Child Murders (in competition)
1994 - Whoops (in competition)

Ha hibát, pontatlanságokat talál, kérjük, jelezze a nfi@nfi.hu email-címen, ahol az adatbázissal kapcsolatos egyéb észrevételeit is szívesen várjuk!