Kiev MOLODIST International Film Festival


The appearance of the Molodist film festival was planned to happen in 1962, when the Kyiv Institute of Theatrical Arts in the name of Karpenko-Kariy first introduced the department of Cinema Art. The natural attraction of young masters to the audience, the necessity for emotional impulse from the audience, and the necessity in conversation through the screen - all that made this great beginning successful and eternal.

A festival that built on this sort of conception does not have any chance to become old. That is probably the reason of its name: "Molodist" means "youth" in Ukrainian. Only one short notice in the newspaper "Na Ekranah Ukrainy" from October 31, 1970, which announced the first festival, said: "...the first Republican Festival of Student Films "Molodist" took place in Kyiv during two days. 33 films were shown. The Jury with Mykola Maschenko as the Head determined the best student films, presented diplomas and prizes".

The annual festival competition consists of three categories:

- student films (less than 45')
- first professional short (fiction, animation, documentary) films (less than 45')
- first professional full-length fiction (60' or more)

The festival also presents a non-competition program that may include any of the following elements:

Panorama of Ukrainian Cinema
Retrospectives of film schools and prominent filmmakers
Eastern European Panorama
Festival of Festivals Different Love

Hungarian films at the festival

The Seventh Circle
The Investigator - Yves Montand Prize for Best Acting (in competition)(winner)
Altamira(in competition)
Angst(in competition)
Seaside, Dusk - Ecumenical Jury's Prize (in competition)(winner)
The Wonderous Voyage of Esti Kornél
Fresh Air
Smouldering Cigarette
Long Twilight
Hukkle - Diploma of the Jury (in competition)(winner)
Kontroll - Best Feature Film (in competition)(winner)
Konyec(in competition)
Close to Love
Sticky Matters - Special Prize of the Jury,

Best Supporting Actor: Miklós Jancsó
(in competition)(winner)
Everything is like it is
Fateless - Special Mention of the Jury,

Best Actor: Marcell Nagy (ex aequo),

Ecumenical Jury's Special Mention
(in competition)(winner)
Let's Love Each Other
The Witman Boys
Closing Time(in competition)
Bibliothéque Pascal
The Turin Horse
Just the Wind
Le Grand Cahier
Land of Storms(in competition)
Provincia(in competition)
The Noise of Licking - Special Mention (in competition)(winner)
Those Who Remained(in competition)
Natural Light

Ha hibát, pontatlanságokat talál, kérjük, jelezze a email-címen, ahol az adatbázissal kapcsolatos egyéb észrevételeit is szívesen várjuk!